Finance Faculty Directory



We invite you to meet the entire faculty and find out more about each one’s research interests and areas of expertise.

Tenure Track Faculty

Manuel  Adelino

Adelino, Manuel

Assistant Professor

manuel.adelino@duke.edu
p. +1. 919.660.7981

Academic Area:

Finance

Teaching / Research Interests:



Learn more:
Vita | Bio | Personal page

Ravi  Bansal

Bansal, Ravi

J. B. Fuqua Professor

ravi.bansal@duke.edu
p. +1.919.660.7758

Academic Area:

Finance

Teaching / Research Interests:

Financial Economics, Asset Pricing, Global Economics, Climate Change

Learn more:
Vita | Bio | Personal page

Michael W. Brandt

Brandt, Michael W.

Kalman J. Cohen Professor

michael.brandt@duke.edu
p. +1.919.660.1948

Academic Area:

Finance

Teaching / Research Interests:

Asset Allocation, Risk Management, Investments, Derivatives, Fixed Income Securities, Empirical and Theoretical Asset Pricing, Financial Econometrics

Learn more:
Vita | Bio | Personal page

Alon  Brav

Brav, Alon

Jessica Caroe Research Fellow and Professor

brav@duke.edu
p. +1.919.660.2908

Academic Area:

Finance

Teaching / Research Interests:

Investments, Empirical Asset Pricing, Empirical Corporate Finance

Learn more:
Vita | Bio | Personal page

Douglas T. Breeden

Breeden, Douglas T.

William W. Priest, Jr. Professor

doug.breeden@duke.edu
p. +1.919.660.2892

Academic Area:

Finance

Teaching / Research Interests:



Learn more:
Vita | Bio | Personal page

John  Buley

Buley, John

Executive Director of CFE and Consulting Professor of Finance

john.buley@duke.edu
p. +1.919.660.2932

Academic Area:

Finance

Teaching / Research Interests:

Impact Investing, Future of Financial Services Regulation, Corporate Restructuring, Emerging Markets Private Equity

Bio

Ian  Dew-Becker

Dew-Becker, Ian

Assistant Professor

ian.dew-becker@duke.edu
p. +1.919.660.1989

Academic Area:

Finance

Teaching / Research Interests:



Learn more:
Vita | Bio | Personal page

Simon  Gervais

Gervais, Simon

William and Sue Gross Research Fellow and Professor

simon.gervais@duke.edu
p. +1.919.660.7683

Academic Area:

Finance

Teaching / Research Interests:

Corporate Finance, Microeconomics, Investments

Learn more:
Vita | Bio

John R Graham

Graham, John R

D. Richard Mead, Jr. Family Professor

john.graham@duke.edu
p. +1 919.660.7857

Academic Area:

Finance

Teaching / Research Interests:

Corporate Finance; Taxation; Investments; Herding; Combining and Assessing Forecasts

Learn more:
Vita | Bio | Personal page

Campbell R. Harvey

Harvey, Campbell R.

J. Paul Sticht Professor

cam.harvey@duke.edu
p. +1.919.660.7768

Academic Area:

Finance

Teaching / Research Interests:

Global Asset Allocation, International Investment, Emerging Market Finance

Learn more:
Vita | Bio | Personal page

David A. Hsieh

Hsieh, David A.

Bank of America Professor

david.a.hsieh@duke.edu
p. +1.919.660.7779, +1.919.660.7961

Academic Area:

Finance

Teaching / Research Interests:

Teaching: Money and Capital Markets; International Corporate Finance; Investments. Research: Dynamic Trading Strategies and Risk Management

Learn more:
Vita | Bio | Personal page

Manju  Puri

Puri, Manju

J. B. Fuqua Professor

manju.puri@duke.edu
p. +1.919.660.7657

Academic Area:

Finance

Teaching / Research Interests:

Financial Intermediation and Capital Markets, Advanced Corporate Finance

Learn more:
Vita | Bio

Adriano A. Rampini

Rampini, Adriano A.

Lewis Cook III Research Fellow and Professor

rampini@duke.edu
p. +1.919.660.7797

Academic Area:

Finance

Teaching / Research Interests:

Financial Economics, Macroeconomics

Learn more:
Vita | Bio | Personal page

David T. Robinson

Robinson, David T.

William and Sue Gross Research Fellow, Professor of Finance

davidr@duke.edu
p. +1 919 660 8023

Academic Area:

Finance

Teaching / Research Interests:

Entrepreneurial Finance, Empirical Corporate Finance

Learn more:
Vita | Bio | Personal page

Lukas M Schmid

Schmid, Lukas M

Associate Professor

lukas.schmid@duke.edu
p. +1 919 660 3790

Academic Area:

Finance

Teaching / Research Interests:

Asset Pricing, Quantitative Corporate Finance, Contract Theory

Learn more:
Vita | Bio | Personal page

Felipe  Varas

Varas, Felipe

Assistant Professor

felipe.varas@duke.edu

Academic Area:

Finance

Teaching / Research Interests:



Learn more:
Vita | Bio | Personal page

S.

Viswanathan, S. "Vish"

F. M. Kirby Professor of Investment Banking

viswanat@duke.edu
p. +1 919 660 7784

Academic Area:

Finance

Teaching / Research Interests:

Corporate Finance

Learn more:
Vita | Bio | Personal page

Ming  Yang

Yang, Ming

Assistant Professor

ming.yang@duke.edu
p. +1 919 660 7615

Academic Area:

Finance

Teaching / Research Interests:



Learn more:
Vita | Bio | Personal page

Other Faculty

Michael H. Bradley

Bradley, Michael H.

F.M. Kirby Emeritus Professor and Professor of Law

bradley@duke.edu
p. +1.919.660.8006

Academic Area:

Finance

Teaching / Research Interests:

Microeconomics, Industrial Organization, Investments, Managerial Finance, Corporate Finance, Mergers and Acquisitions, Restructuring, Corporate Law

Bio

Arlie O Petters

Petters, Arlie O

Professor of Fianance (by courtesy), Benjamin Powell Professor & Professor of Mathematics & Physics

arlie.petters@duke.edu
p. +1.919.660.7929

Academic Area:

Finance

Teaching / Research Interests:

Mathematical Finance, Entrepreneurship and Innovation in Science and Technology (Developing World), Mathematical Physics, Applied Mathematics

Learn more:
Vita | Bio | Personal page