Theo Koulianos
“I hoped to broaden my cultural awareness while also giving my classmates an idea of my Southern upbringing. I can say I’ve found this balance—while in Durham, I had the opportunity to show my classmates what I enjoy doing in the outdoors, such as fishing and hunting. In Kunshan, I’ve had the opportunity to travel to four different countries and territories so far.”

MMS: Duke Kunshan University

Class of 2018
Industry:
Natural Resources

Prior Education:

Hampden-Sydney College
Economics, 2017
Hometown:
Mobile, Alabama
Nationality:
USA

Why I Chose Fuqua

I largely limited my search to programs that provided an international component. When I applied to Fuqua, I was greeted by a very welcoming environment that made me feel like I was at home. The program aligns with my professional goals—I want to work in the United States after graduation, and the program provides me the opportunity to build my network in the U.S. while also having the opportunity to spend a semester in Asia and experience Asian culture.  Moreover, I chose Fuqua because of its career resources.  Fuqua’s career resources have been unparalleled and have changed my perspective on my career search.

Before Fuqua

Initially, I was interested in sales, trading, and fixed income securities, but during an internship I realized I wasn’t passionate about the work. This led me to explore career opportunities that would allow me to apply my skillset to topics I’m passionate about.

After Fuqua

I hope to start in a position with a good training program, work there for a few years to develop my skills, and then move on to work in a function where I can work directly in the natural resources industry.

5 Random Facts About Me

  1. My Greek heritage is fundamental to who I am. Much of my childhood consisted of serving in the Altar, attending Greek school each Wednesday, practicing with my Greek dance troupe, and annual summer trips to the island of Leros.
  2. Each Memorial Day weekend, I help my mother run a camp called Christ the Good Shepherd, which is for Greek Orthodox families with kids who have special needs, primarily autism. At camp, I specialize in taking the children fishing. The happiness on the children’s faces is extremely heartwarming when many children catch their first-ever fish.
  3. I am a morning person. I often wake up in the early hours of the morning to get a head start on my work, which gives me more free time in the afternoon to participate in other activities.
  4. I consider myself a foodie, and I love experimenting with new dishes by getting creative with ingredients. Also, I am the least picky eater you will ever meet. One of favorite ways to experience new cultures is through eating the food.
  5. When I meet someone new, I often get asked if I am from Australia because of my accent.

Why I'm Interested In My Industry

My life experiences in the outdoors have made me very passionate about our natural resources and issues relating to them, so my career goal is for my work to align with those passions in some capacity. I grew up on the coast of the Gulf of Mexico, so I had a firsthand experience living through the BP Deepwater Horizon oil spill in 2010.  This experience effectively changed my way of life for a year and was transformative, as it helped me understand the connection between industrial responsibility and sustainable environmental practices.

Master of Management Studies: Duke Kunshan University

Undergraduate Majors

Business/Accounting (51%)
Economics (22%)
Liberal Arts (14%)
Engineering/Natural Sciences (10%)
Other (4%)

Typical Class Demographics
MMS: Duke Kunshan University

Average Age

23

Average Work Experience

6 months or less

Countries Represented

11

Non-US Citizenship

69%

Women

53%

Student Network


Phoebe Fleming MMS: Duke Kunshan University

Phoebe Fleming

Class of 2017
Tianwei Zhao MMS: Duke Kunshan University

Tianwei Zhao

Class of 2018
Abi Chen MMS: Duke Kunshan University

Abi Chen

Class of 2017
Kristina Xie MMS: Duke Kunshan University

Kristina Xie

Class of 2018