2024 Winner

Derrick XiongDerrick Yifang Xiong MMS '13

Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Pantasy

Derrick Xiong is a serial entrepreneur and has a great passion for start-ups. He is the founder and CEO of Pantasy, a fast-growing toy start-up that is focused on creating and designing collectable DIY kits and toys for adults. Today, products of Pantasy have a global presence in over 40 countries. Prior to founding Pantasy, Derrick was the co-founder and Chief Marketing Officer of EHang (NASDAQ: EH), a world leader in urban air mobility, an emerging industry with a trillion-dollar market globally. 
Derrick graduated from the Nanyang Technological University with a bachelor's degree of Electronic and Electrical Engineering and from the Fuqua School of Business at Duke University with a Master of Management Studies.

What impact has your Fuqua experience had on your career/life?

During my time at Fuqua, I was heavily involved in all kinds of programs such as P4E (program for entrepreneurs), Duke startup challenge and SIP (summer innovation program). These programs were to help students who want to do startups in future. These programs helped me a lot, and immediately after I graduated from Fuqua, I went to start my company. Not too late after, I co-started EHang, which is becoming a world leader in the urban air mobility industry. The Fuqua experience gave me the right skillsets and courage to do this, and I truly appreciate it.

Professionally or personally, what are you excited about right now?

I'm passionate about building the next-generation consumer brand and inventing things that make people happy. 

What does this Fuqua award mean to you?

It's a great honor to receive this award. I will continue bringing the Fuqua spirit around the world as well as supporting more and more students who have a passion for entrepreneurship through the endowment fund I set up last year.


Year Recipients

Jacob Mullin MBA '15

David Nowak MBA '08


Dave Lincoln MBA '08

Yi Shi PhD '97, MBA '99

2020-21 Connie Chai '10, MBA '16
2019-20 Chris LaSala MBA '98

Larry Fobes MBA '99

Rob Khoury MBA '97


Jamie Khanna MBA '06
Joe Wu MBA '04

 2016-17 Terry Sobolewski MBA '03
Mike Wade MBA '03
 2015-16 Jeff Kovick '01, MBA '11
Rubens Passos MBA '99
 2014-15 Fred Isbell MBA '85
Jonathan Roth MBA '90
 2013-14 Teresa Niu MBA '09
Tyrone Thomas MBA '04 
 2012-13 Brian Derksen MBA '78
Christiaan Heijmen MBA '08
 2011-12 Joel Lipsitch MBA '02
 2010-11 Bharat Tandon MBA '86
Jimmy Childre MBA '01
 2009-10 Alison Levine MBA '00
Catherine Nelson MBA '85
 2008-09 Keith Artin MBA '99
Edward Magee MBA '99
 2007-08 Ken Burton MBA '98
Lynn Calhoun T '78, MBA '83
 2006-07 Bob Joyce MBA '87
 2005-06 Sharon Piech MBA '01
 2003-04 Sanjith Shetty MBA '95
 2002-03 Owen May MBA '83
 2001-02 Roy Kiefer MBA '78
 2000-01 Adrian Sawczuk MBA '97
 1999-00 Walter Simpson III MBA '74
 1998-99 John Rollins
 1997-98 Robert Garda E '61
 1996-97 J. Derek Penn MBA '84
 1995-96 Kirk Bradley MBA '86
 1993-94 Jack Bovender, Jr. MHA '69
 1992-93 Jennifer Farthing Bean MBA '86
Robert Price T '52
 1991-92 Robert Lane MBA '81