Volunteers Make a Big Impact

Alumni Council members networking with students


About the Alumni Awards

For over 30 years, Fuqua has been recognizing alumni for their contributions. Fuqua alumni awards are presented each spring and celebrate the accomplishments of those who make an impact on the Fuqua community and the world at large. Faculty, staff, students, and alumni are encouraged to nominate distinguished Fuqua alumni for one of the awards below. Award winners are selected by a committee of Fuqua alumni and staff. Please note: Current Fuqua students, current members of Fuqua’s Board of Visitors, Alumni Council, Minority Alumni Advisory Board, and Health Care Alumni Advisory Board are not eligible to receive an award while they are serving on a board.

Make your nomination by February 19, 2023 for the 2023 award ceremony!

Alumni Impact Award

  • Recognizes individuals or teams who have helped advance Fuqua by investing their time and energy on a specific project
  • Recipients are honored for their willingness to work out unique solutions that create positive outcomes and for taking the initiative to benefit the Fuqua community with their time, energy, and talents

2022 Winners:

Rachael ClassiRachael Classi, Daytime MBA '14

In recognition of Rachael’s efforts to build and strengthen the entrepreneurship community at Fuqua, both in and out of the classroom, across all Fuqua programs.

Read more about Rachael and see past winners


Cesar Del Castillo De PandoCesar Del Castillo De Pando, Global Executive MBA '16

In recognition of Cesar’s work to promote Fuqua’s programs to prospective students and corporations in Latin America.

Read more about Cesar and see past winners

Award for Exemplary Service

  • Recognizes individuals who demonstrate a dedication to the school through their time, energy, talents, or financial support
  • Recipients have given their time to connecting their classmates, alumni programming, board service, student engagement, engaging their employers to the benefit of Fuqua, and/or providing service to fellow alumni, current students, and faculty

2022 Winners:

David LincolnDave Lincoln, Weekend Executive MBA '08

In recognition of Dave’s leadership in connecting Dell to Fuqua as an employer and a sponsor of student activities and for nurturing the Fuqua alumni community at Dell.

Read more about Dave and see past winners


Yi ShiYi Shi PhD '97, Daytime MBA '99

In recognition of Yi’s efforts to support Fuqua’s presence in East Asia, promote Fuqua to prospective students in region, support Fuqua philanthropically, and enrich the alumni community in China.

Read more about Yi and see past winners

Leader of Consequence Award

  • Recognizes alumni whose exemplary professional accomplishments are matched by the significant positive social or environmental change they have created
  • Recipients use their Fuqua training to make a difference both inside and outside of their employment setting

2022 Winner:

Beth BaffordBeth Bafford '06, Daytime MBA '12

In recognition of Beth’s leadership in the field of impact investing, her support of Fuqua’s efforts to educate students in this area, and her wise counsel on the CASE i3 Advisory Board.

Read more about Beth and see past winners



Fuqua Award Winners from Across Duke

May-Penn Award of Excellence

This award was established in 2006 in honor of Owen May MBA '83 and Derek Penn '79, MBA '84 for their longstanding commitment, leadership, and exemplary service to The Fuqua School of Business. The May-Penn Award of Excellence is the highest honor Black and Latino MBA Organization alumni can bestow upon a peer.

This award will honor the alumnus/alumna who actively participates in annual events, is accessible to students, and is connected to the broader community through his/her interaction with the faculty and administration. The recipient of this award should be recognized as a leader within the Fuqua community as well as in his or her profession. The individual recognized with the May-Penn Award of Excellence is an inspiration to those around him/her and a role model to those coming after him/her.

2021 Winner:

Cara SabinCara Sabin MBA '98

Read more about Cara and see past winners

Duke Alumni

Duke Alumni Association Awards

Each year, Duke Alumni Association also honors a handful of individuals who embody the spirit of Forever Duke and advance the Duke ideal of knowledge in service to society. Listed below are the 2022 Fuqua alumni recipients:

Charles A. Dukes Award for Outstanding Volunteer Service

  • Aruna Inalsingh MBA '95

Forever Duke Award

  • Ricardo Duque MBA '06
  • Philip McKenzie MBA '99
  • Laurinda Rainey '03, MBA '08